Events Calendar

Download as iCal file
Cohort A - Addressing the “Why” of Antibiotic Stewardship (including resistance)
Tuesday, October 24, 2017, 09:00am - 10:00am
(PT) 

Agenda

Meeting Goal and Objectives: 

Introductions

Sara Phillips, Facilitator

10:00 – 10:10 MT 

09:00 – 09:10 PT

 

Didactic Presentation

The Why of Stewardship

Dr. Emily Spivak

Dr. Eddie Stenehjem

10:10 – 10:45 MT

09:10 – 09:45 PT

 

Questions and Answers

Next Meeting: 11/28/17-12 Noon

Sara Phillips – Facilitator

Dr. Emily Spivak

Dr. Eddie Stenehjem

10:45 – 11:00 MT

09:45 – 10:00 PT

 

 

Telementors:

Emily Spivak, M.D., M.H.S.

Assistant Professor of Medicine, Division of Infectious Diseases
University of Utah School of Medicine

Medical Director, Antimicrobial Stewardship Programs
University of Utah Hospital and VA Salt Lake City Health Care System
Hospital Epidemiologist, VA Salt Lake City Health Care System

Eddie Stenehjem, M.D., MSc

Intermountain Medical Center

Division of Infectious Diseases

Medical Director, Antimicrobial Stewardship

Research Director, Infectious Diseases Telehealth Program

Clinical Assistant Professor (affiliated), Stanford University School of Medicine

Summary

Our first Antimicrobial Stewardship Program (ASP) ECHO Clinic for Cohort A will be the “Why of Antibiotic Stewardship.” The clinic will provide an introduction to the ECHO model, a clear definition of antimicrobial stewardship and show the impact a well-organized, mission-driven stewardship program can have on a facility. Using current data, subject matter experts will review trends in antimicrobial resistance, use and policy with a focus on providing a framework for future clinics covering the core elements of stewardship programs and the strategic planning process.